Home » India » Civil Service Exam Pattern To Change From 2011

From next year (2011) the syllabus and pattern of Civil service exam is all set to change. There will be no optional paper and aptitude test will be included.

This is a major shift from the pattern of examination the UPSC has been conducting.

From Civil Service Examination 2011, Preliminary Examination would consist of two papers- Paper I and Paper II. The syllabus and pattern of the Preliminary Examination would be as under :

(Paper 1) (200 marks) – Duration : Two hrs.

· Current events of national and international importance
· History of India and Indian national movement
· Indian and World Geography- physical, social, economic geography of India and the world
· Indian Polity and governance – constitution, political system, panchayati raj, public policy, Rights issues, etc.
· Economic and social development – sustainable development, poverty, inclusion, demographics, social sector initiatives etc.
· General issues on environmental ecology, bio-diversity and climate change-that donot require subject specialization
· General science.

(Paper II) (200 marks) – Duration : Two hrs

· Comprehension
· Interpersonal skills including communication skills
· Logical reasoning and analytical ability
· Decision making and problem solving
· General mental ability
· Basic numeracy (numbers and their relations, orders of magnitude etc. (Class X level), Data interpretation (charts, graphs, tables, data sufficiency etc. –Class X level)
· English language comprehension skills (Class X level)

Related Posts with Thumbnails


No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!